Labelcast #003: DJ Mourad’s Broken Soul Mix

IMPORTANT NOTE: All LABELCAST episodes have moved over to our domain. You can find newer episodes there, as well as our back catalog of episodes.

This month’s podcast is brought to you by DJ Mourad. Mourad has a few releases scheduled with LABEL for this Summer and Fall.

“Two Turntables, a Mixer, a crate of VINYL and a lot of SOUL.

This is a mix that, like all other mixes I did and will do, is done in one take.

There are mistakes in there but I consider them as natural because there was no preparation whatsoever to make this mix.

I could just throw [away] the mix and do another one, but I know that it will be difficult to catch the vibe of this one.

The only idea I had for this mix is to be true to myself and the music I play and that most people associate me with. Here is a bit of my soul and a bit of my actual state of mind.

For those who might be surprised about the last track , all I can say is this: It was an improvised choice as i picked the record while mixing the last track, and to be honest, I couldn’t think of ending this mix in any other way. John Beltran is one of the musicians that I admire and love, and his music touches.

The deepest parts of my soul. So yes I wanted you to listen to his genius if you make it to the end of this mix.” -DJ Mourad, Recorded May 11th, 2013.

  1. Envoy – Charms & Changelings [Soma Records]
  2. ??? – 20002x [Wax (White Label)]
  3. John Tejada – Stealth Mission [Palette Records]
  4. Allergy – No Boundaries [Soma Records]
  5. Syrinx – Dub Sequence [Ann Aimee]
  6. Alexi Delano & Jesper Dahlbäck – Nueva York [Blank Ltd]
  7. John Tejada – Outer Circle [Organized Noise]
  8. Taho – Detroit [Delsin Records]
  9. Oliver Kapp – Directions [Indulge Records]
  10. John Tejada & Arian Leviste – 2 Speakers Dream [Palette Records]
  11. ??? – ??? [Dsp 02 (White Label)]
  12. ??? – 10001 [Wax (White Label)]
  13. Underground Resistance – The Final Frontier [Underground Resistance]
  14. Planetary – Matter Of Sound [Deslsin Records]
  15. System 7 & Derrick May – Prototype 1 (Electron Mix) [A Wave Records]
  16. John Beltran – Sweet Soul [Delsin Records]